Kneading Conference

Stephanie Swane, publisher and editorial director of our in-house publishing department The Cooking Lab, will be moderating a demonstration by Rachel Wyman, who is an award-winning career baker and the owner of Montclair Bread Company. Join them for a doughnut-making adventure turning yeasted brioche dough, buttermilk cake dough and pâte à choux into dozens of delicious doughnuts. All the basics of dough, fillings, and glazes will be covered, including tips to help you customize them.

Tuesday, September 1, 4–6 p.m. EST / 1–3 p.m. PST

Register and purchase tickets here.

North Carolina State University Fermentology Talk

Fermentation transforms dough into bread with a complexity of flavors, aromas, and a tender crumb from the moment the yeast is mixed with flour, water, and salt to the time it’s baked. Understanding fermentation’s critical role in the stages of the bread making process enables you to bake better bread.

Should you add raisins to your starter? What is the best feeding schedule? When is it “ripe?” What can you do with excess starter waste? Join Francisco Migoya, head chef at Modernist Cuisine and co-author of the award-winning Modernist Bread, as he answers these questions and provides research findings conducted by his team over four years that dispel many long-standing baking myths.

Join Chef Migoya on Thursday, September 10th at 4:00 EST / 1:00 PST. For more information, visit the NCSU website.

RCA Powered Up 2020 (Online)

Join Modernist Cuisine head chef Francisco Migoya at RCA’s Powered Up 2020 conference for a closer look at some of the innovative techniques from Modernist Bread. From the surprising role steam plays in baking to how to make your own “compleat wheat” bread, chef Migoya will share several key findings in this virtual keynote talk that will help you become a better baker and inspire you to think more scientifically about bread.

Learn More